HCPL card pairGet A Card

Your library card is good at all of the Henrico Library branches including the Mobile Library Services and allows you to

  • Check out print, audio, and video materials
  • Access premium online articles and information
  • Use a computer at our libraries
  • Renew in person, by telephone or online
  • Place a hold on items and choose which location to pick them up

You may apply for a Henrico library card at any Henrico library.

  1. Start your registration at home by using our online registration form
  2. Or you can print the online registration form (Formulario de registración) and bring it to any of our branches
  3. Or visit any of the Henrico County Public Library branches and fill out a library card registration form in person

You need a photo ID and proof of current address to get a permanent library card.

The following are examples of acceptable documents:
  • Photo identification from an official source:
    • Valid Driver's License
    • Valid Virginia ID card
    • Passport
  • Proof of residential address:
    • Checks with names and address printed on them
    • Utility bill in your name
    • DMV Address verification postcard
    • Virginia Voter's registration card
    • Cancelled mail in your name and address dated within the last 30 days
    • Employment or Insurance ID with address
    • Lease agreement
  • Business licenses cannot be accepted as proof of taxes paid.

Eligibility

Any resident of Henrico, Richmond or Chesterfield may register and borrow library materials. To register as a Henrico County Public Library user, you must show proof of meeting eligibility requirements. New residents who do not yet have proof of address can obtain a non-renewable 28-day library card that provides limited access. Once proof of street address and photo I.D. are shown, the card is upgraded to have full privileges. If your home address is in Goochland, Hanover, King and Queen, or King William County, you may qualify for a card through our reciprocal agreement with Pamunkey Regional Library System.

If your county is not specifically listed, you may apply for a non-resident card at the cost of $25.00 per year or a temporary card at the cost of $13.00 per six months. An individual who works for Henrico County, but who resides outside of the consortium area, will be issued a Henrico County Public Library card upon presentation of their current Henrico County employee identification card or pay stub, which must be presented every two years.

Exceptions

An individual who lives in another county, but who owns property in Henrico County, will be treated as a resident of the county upon presentation of a current paid tax receipt (real estate or personal property). A current receipt must be presented in lieu of payment each year at the time the card is renewed.

Youth Cards

To obtain a library card, patrons under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian with photo ID and proof of address. The parent or legal guardian assumes responsibility for proper use of the library card as well as payment of fines or lost or damaged materials fees.

Additional Authorized User

As a library cardholder you have the option to add an authorized user to access your Henrico County Public Library account for the purposes of paying fines, checking out library holds, renewing borrowed materials, and verifying what materials are checked out on your account. The authorized user will not have access to your library card number, and may not check out additional library materials on your account. If an authorized user needs to be removed from the account, it is your responsibility to do so by contacting the library. Ask at the check-out desk at your library to fill out a quick form to add an authorized user.

Borrowing Library Materials

How do I get a library card?

Options and requirements can be found in the above section of this page.

How do I change my PIN number?

Go to the online library catalog. Click on My Account near the top of the screen. Click on Change My PIN. Follow the directions on that page. If you have forgotten your PIN, use the Forgot your PIN link or call your local library for assistance.

What if I lose my library card?

Report your lost card to the library immediately by calling one of the branches. The cardholder is responsible for any outstanding materials or fines attached to the lost card. To request a replacement card, go to the circulation desk and present the proper identification. The replacement fee is $1.

How do I renew books and other materials?

Click the My Account link located in the top-right of the library website. Click on Renew My Materials. Enter your library card number and PIN, and click List Charged Items. From this next screen, you can renew all or selected items.

Where do I return the items I have borrowed?

Library materials can be returned to any Henrico County Public Library. Outside book returns are available 24 hours a day at all libraries. Drive-through book returns and pick-up windows are available at Libbie Mill, Tuckahoe, Twin Hickory and Varina. Drive-up book returns are at Gayton, Glen Allen, and North Park. Interlibrary Loan Service materials must be returned in person to the branch where the request was made.

How much is the overdue charge for . . . ?

See overdue fines for library materials. The fine for overdue interlibrary loan items is $1.00 per day.

How long can I check this out for?

See loan periods for library materials.

Placing a Hold

How do I place a book on hold?

Place a hold on a book or other library materials online in the catalog.
  • Search for an item.
  • From the Search Results page, find the item that you'd like to place on hold.
  • Click on the Hold or Transfer button to the left of the title.
  • Enter your 14-digit library card number (typed without spaces between numbers) and PIN (Personal Identification Number). NOTE: You will have to do this step for each item you want to place on hold.
  • Click on the arrow beside the **Pickup At box to select the library at which you would like to pick up your hold.
  • Libbie Mill, Tuckahoe, Twin Hickory, and Varina have drive-up windows open during normal library hours for hold pick up. Designate Drive-up as the pickup location when placing the hold.
  • Click on the Place Hold button.

Is there a limit on the number of holds I can place through the catalog?

Yes. You may have up to 10 holds placed on titles in the catalog and/or showing available and ready for pickup. You can view your holds through Review My Account found under My Account.

How will I know when the hold is available for pickup?

You will be notified by email or phone when the item is ready for pickup. Your item will be held for three Library business days. Call your library if you cannot make it within three days.

You can see the status of your holds when you log in to the HCPL Catalog under My Account and choose Review My Account. Information about your holds shows under the Holds tab.

What if I want to borrow something that the library does not own?

The library cannot purchase every item published. While you are welcome to recommend items for purchase, you also have the option of requesting an Interlibrary Loan. Whenever possible Henrico County Public Library will try to borrow items from another library system for our customers.

Interlibrary Loan

Requesting Interlibrary Loan Materials

The Henrico County Public Library welcomes Interlibrary Loan requests for materials that are not a part of the library's collection. Library staff will attempt to borrow an item from another library for you. Please keep the following guidelines in mind when requesting an Interlibrary Loan.

Requesting

  • A postage fee of $3.00 will be billed for each filled Interlibrary Loan. You are responsible for paying the postage fee whether the item is picked up or not.
  • A maximum of five Interlibrary Loans are allowed at a time.
  • To make a request, you must have a library card in good standing (not blocked, barred, nor collections status) and/or have no overdue ILL materials.
  • You must have a current address in your record.
  • Requests are taken only in person at the Adult Information Desk.
  • Indicate a maximum cost you are willing to pay, if any, charged by the lending system to obtain the requested material.
  • A title cannot be requested more than once within a 3 month period.
  • Not all requests can be filled.

Picking up

  • Pick up Interlibrary Loan material at the Adult Information Desk of the Library where the item was requested. The postage fee can be paid at the Circulation Desk.
  • Due dates are assigned by the lending library.
  • If Interlibrary Loan material is not picked up, you are still responsible for any previously authorized fees.
  • The lending library's invoice for any fees may arrive with the material or later. If later, you will be notified when the invoice arrives.
  • Do not remove the Interlibrary Loan paper.
  • Refunds cannot be granted for Interlibrary Loan fees.

Returning

  • Material must be returned to the Adult Information Desk at the Library where the item was requested.
  • You must sign when returning Interlibrary Loan material.
  • Do not return Interlibrary Loan materials in the book drop or at the Circulation Desk.

Renewing

  • Renewals are sometimes possible and must be requested at least 5 business days before the due date.
  • Renewals must be requested from the Adult Information Desk at the Library where the item was requested. Items cannot be renewed through the online catalog or at the Circulation Desk.
  • Renewals may or may not be granted by the lending library.
  • Some Interlibrary Loan material cannot be renewed.
  • Renewals are not allowed if the patron has overdue ILL materials.

Overdue Fines

  • Overdue fine: $1.00 per day, per item, up to a maximum of $25.00 per item.
  • Your Library borrowing privileges will be barred when the item becomes 21 days late.

Fees, Lost/Damaged Material

  • If Interlibrary Loan material is lost or damaged, you are responsible for paying any fees charged by the lending library.
  • Unpaid lending library fees previously authorized or unpaid lost/damaged fees will be added to your account. Interlibrary Loan privileges will be suspended until these fees are paid.
  • Lending library fees are paid at the Adult Information Desk by check or money order made payable to the lending library.
  • Refunds cannot be granted for Interlibrary Loan fees.

Henrico Library Policies & Procedures Manual -- 5.6 Updated: 09-06-11

Quick Links