If You Like Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Try These Series

on
  • Print

The Strange Case of Origami Yoda         The Popularity Papers         Melonhead         Clueless McGee         Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life   

                                   Big Nate: In A Class By Himself         Tales From a Not-So-Fabulous Life        Spaceheadz

 

The Strange Case of Origami Yoda by Tom Angleberger– As the first book of Angleberger’s Origami Yoda series, this book encourages readers to ponder, “Is Origami Yoda real?” as an eccentric sixth grader baffles his classmates when his Yoda finger puppet offers sage advice. Read the case files filled with pictures and side notes to find out what happens.

Research for the Social Improvement and General Betterment of Lydia Goldblatt & Julia Graham-Chang by Amy Ignatow. Meet Lydia and Julia, two girls determined to crack the code of popularity before they enter middle school. The Popularity Papers series is written in a visually graphic scrapbook style sure to keep readers' attention.

Melonhead by Katy Kelly. Nine-year-old Adam Melon’s grand plans for inventions never come off the way he thinks they will. Join the often in trouble, always curious Adam as he invents, investigates and stinks through the illustrated Melonhead series.

Clueless McGee by Jeff Mack. What happens when the mac and cheese goes missing? Self-proclaimed private investigator PJ “Clueless” McGee is on the case. Throughout the Clueless McGee series, PJ writes to his absent father about all of his wacky (clueless) fifth-grade antics.

Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life by James Patterson. Join Rafe Kane and his best (imaginary) friend as they try and break every school rule to make life more interesting. The Middle School series is great for slightly older Wimpy Kid fans. Look for these books in the Teen or Young Adult section of your library.

Big Nate: In a Class by Himself by Lincoln Peirce. Sixth-grader Nate Wright gets a detention from every one of his teachers on the same day – quite an accomplishment! With a similar mixture of text and graphic illustrations, the Big Nate series will appeal to a slightly younger Wimpy Kid audience. 

Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life by Rachel Renee Russell. The first book of the Dork Diaries series introduces readers to the illustrated diary of Nikki Maxwell, a girl who strives for popularity while learning to become her own person.

Spaceheadz by Jon Scieszka. Become a member of the SPHDZ ranks as you read about Michael K., a fifth-grader in a new school who gets befriended by two very strange students. In Scieszka's SPHDZ series, saving the world has never been more funny.